The Goldwyn Follies

Released by United Artists at the State Theatre, Miami, on January 28, 1938.  Music and lyrics by George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin.  Additional Music by Vernon Duke.  Screenplay by Ben Hecht.  Directed by George Marshall.  Produced by Samuel Goldwyn.  Cast included Adolphe Menjou, The Ritz Brothers, Vera Zorina, Kenny Baker, Ella Logan, Bobby Clark, and Edgar Bergen and Charlie McCarthy.

George Gershwin fell ill during the writing of this score.  He eventually died after surgery for a previously undiagnosed brain tumor; he was 38 years old.  After returning from New York for his brother’s funeral, Ira completed the score with Vernon Duke, his collaborator on the ZIEGFELD FOLLIES OF 1936.  Ira wrote the lyric to the verse of “Love Is Here to Stay” after George’s death; when heard in that context the song is even more poignant.  The songs are among the Gershwins’ best, even if they are not always used to their fullest advantage in the picture.